Taos County, New Mexico
Santa Barbara Land Grant

This page contributed and copyrighted by Karen Mitchell.

Contributed by Alberto Vidaurre

Following is some information on the SANTA BARBARA Land Grant (La Merced de Santa Barbara).Surveyor General (SG) Case File # 114 Microfilm Roll # 23 Frame 1234 and Private Land Claims (PLC) Case File # 96 Microfilm Roll # 43 Frame # 729.

The Santa Barbara land grant was granted to Valentin Martin, Eusebio Martin, Jose Olguin, Clemente Mestas and Sixty Seven (67) other unnamed Resident Settlers of the Place of San Jose de las Trampas by Lt.Colonel and Governor, Don Fernando Chacon 11 January 1796. They were placed in possession of the grant by Don Manuel Garcia, Chief Alcalde of the Town of Santa Cruz dela Canada 3 April 1796.The former settlers having forfeited all rights of possessions to the land due to their abandonment of the grant.

Documents in the Spanish Archives of New Mexico Series I, Microfilm Roll # 3,Twitchell Number 529, Frame Number 853 dated 1744 identify the 4 former settlers as Teniente Alcalde Mayor Jacinto Martin, Fhelipe Bustamante, Antonio Martin and Juan Franciso Martin former Vecinos of Santa Cruz dela Canada.

Antonio Martin and Juan Francisco Martin are brothers, sons of Francisco "El Ciego"Martin Serrano, and married to 2 Villalpando sisters. Jacinto Martin is the son of Alejo Martin Serrano. Alejo and Franciso "El Ciego" are sons of Pedro Martin Serrano y Salazar and Juana de Arguello.

The 12 July 1750 Census shows that by the time the census was taken 27 families resided by the Picuris Mission.

The 1899 Civil Suit (Quiet Title) brought in state court between:
NEPOMUCENO MARTINEZ et. al., Plaintiffs
JULIO RODARTE et. al., Defendants;

Documents Dated 21 August 1901,# B-291-292-293 list the settlers as follows:
Balentine Martinez,
Eusebio Martin,
Clemente Mestas,
Juan Olgin,
Ramon Martinez,
Andres Sena,
Tomas Medina,
Roque Sanchez,
Felix Martinez,
Juan Jose Martinez,
Manuel Cordova,
Alberto Martinez,
Miguel Gonzales,
Hemegildo Leyba,
Felipe Sena,
Salvador Medina,
Baitiste Benavides,
Francisco Aragon,
Eusebio Medina,
and Juan Benivedes, Deceased,
Original Grantees of Said Santa Barbara Grant.

The Same court document lists 104 persons who are heirs or claiming an interest or title to the grant;as follows:
Jacobo Mascarrenas, Jose Rafael Lopez, Cipriano Martinez, Jose Amelio Sandoval, Romulo Martinez, Antonio Martinez, Santos Muniz, Jose D.Martinez, Jose Isador Fresquez, Manuel Muniz y Torres, Jose Ortega, Jesus Gonzales, Jose Guadalupe Montoya, Maria de la Cruz Casias, Apolinio Gonzales, Juan Medina y Martinez, Juan B.Mascarrenas, Julio Rodarte, Jose Benito Rodarte, Jose Sanchez, Jesus Madrid, Juan F.Chacon, Manuel Mastas, Juan B.Fernandez y Sanchez, Porfirio Alarid, Agapito Medina, Manuel Rodarte, Nestor Lovato, Alejandro Sanchez, Juan B.Fernandez y Pais, Ignacio Madrid, Jose Tubersio Sandoval, Tomas Lopez, Juan Antonio Martinez, Blas Sanchez, Antonio D.Muniz, Ursulo Leyba, Malaquias Martinez, Pedro Sanchez, Juan Ysidro Duran, Pedro Ignacio Duran, Yrinea Gallegos, Agapito Espinoza, Jose Cordova, Feliz Cordova, Santiago Vigil, Jose de Gracia Lovato, Jose Rafael Lujan, Diego A.Martinez, Jose Duran, Vidal Sanchez, Juan Medina Espinoza, Felipe Miera, Manuel A.Lopez, Jose Inez Fresquez, Jose de Gracia Fresquez y Casias, Tomas Duran, Vidal Gallegos, Alejandro Gallegos, Bartolo Vigil, Fermin Madrid, Hermergildo Sanchez, Felix D.Muniz, Noberto Martinez, Manuel Medina, Enrique Archuleta, Nicanor Visargo, Alcario Gonzales, Jesus M.Martinez, Jose Eselao Duran, Juan Eulalio Sanchez, Juan Mes, Jose Nicanor Duran, Miguel Lobato, Dabid Medina, Jose Tebosio Archuleta, Juan Garcia, Albino Agurre, Jose Vicente Garcia, Jose de Jesus Lopez, Manuel Cordova, Maria Vicente Trujillo, Juan Jose Baca, Manuel Salazar, Cornelio Lujan, Juan F.Cordova, Librado Maestas, Ramon Trujillo, Maria San Juanita Gonzales, Maria Rosalia Malvas, Andres Sanchez, Juan de Jesus Duran, Juan Mestas, Juan B.Archuleta, Esquipula Cruz, Jose G.Fernandez, Jose Pablo Sisneros, Manuel Antonio Fernandez, Jose Rafael Lujan, Jose Miguel Sandoval, Martiano R.Sandoval, Ursula Gonzales, Cornelio Martinez, Manuel Miera, and Jose D.Martinez.

Be advised that I tried to list the names as they are entered in the different documents.

Return to the Taos County Home page, or use your BACK button

© Karen Mitchell